Women's Squash All-NESCAC Selections Released

Women's Squash All-NESCAC Selections Released

 HADLEY, Mass. - Wesleyan senior Laila Samy (Cairo, Egypt) has been selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. A recent winner of the prestigious Richey Award, Samy went undefeated (24-0) at the No. 1 position for the Cardinals. The Player of the Year honor bookends the Rookie of the Year accolade she received in 2015. Additionally, she is a four-time All-NESCAC First Team honoree and the only Cardinal to garner Player of the Year honors.All 10 members of the First Team are repeat All-NESCAC honorees. Six players return to the First Team from a year ago and four players were elevated from the Second Team to the First Team.

  • Five players represented Trinity, the NESCAC Champions. Bates and Williams had four players recognized, and Middlebury and Amherst each had two players earn accolades. Overall, players from eight teams were represented on the All-NESCAC teams.
  • Seniors Devin Mullaney of Colby, Raneem Sharaf of Trinity, Nicole Friedman of Williams, join Samy as four-time All-NESCAC honorees. Mullaney went 9-4 at the No. 1 spot for the Mules, while Sharaf posted an 11-3 record playing at the No. 1 position for the 12-time NESCAC Champions. Friedman posted a 12-8 mark playing at the No. 1 position and led the Ephs to the NESCAC Runner-Up for the fourth straight year.
  • Bates sophomore Luca Polgar and Middlebury junior Beatrijs Kuijpers garner All-NESCAC First Team accolades for the second straight year. Polgar registered a 14-4 record for the Bobcats at the No. 2 position. Kuijpers played at the No. 1 position for the Panthers and won her match 3-0 against Amherst to help Middlebury earn third place for the sixth time in seven years at the NESCAC Championships.
  • Four players were elevated to the First Team after earning Second Team honors in 2017. Sophomore Salma Alam El Din suffered just one loss in 2017 (11-1) playing in the top half of the ladder for the Bantams. She went unbeaten at the No. 3 and No. 4 positions to earn her second consecutive All-NESCAC honor. Senior teammate, Julia LeCoq was 9-0 at the No. 2 position for Trinity and posted a 12-3 record for the year. She is on the First Team for the first time in her career after earning Second Team honors the last three years.
  • Amherst senior Kimberly Krayacich, a two-time All-NESCAC Second Team selection, moves to the First Team this season. She posted a record of 5-3 at the No. 3 position and moved up to play at No. 1 and No. 2 in the final six matches of the year.
  • Williams senior Hayley Parsons rounds out the players who moved from the Second Team to the First Team. Parsons earned First Team honors in 2015 and 2016, and was a Second Team honoree last season. She posted a 13-6 record playing at No. 2 for the Ephs.
  • Min Je Teh is the seventh Trinity player to earn NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors, joining Nayelly Hernandez (2008), Nour Bahgat (2009), Catalina Pelaez (2011), Kanzy El Defrawy (2013), Anna Kimberley (2014), and Vanessa Raj (2017). She went 13-1 in her first season, including a 7-0 record at the No. 5 position for the NESCAC Champions. She was also named to the All-NESCAC Second Team.
  • Trinity head coach Wendy Bartlett was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year by her peers. She wins the award for the fourth time in six years after leading the Bantams to their 12th consecutive NESCAC title.

Women's Squash All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Laila Samy, Wesleyan
Rookie of the Year: Min Je Teh, Trinity
Coach of the Year: Wendy Bartlett, Trinity

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Salma Alam El Din Trinity So. Cairo, Egypt
Nicole Friedman Williams Sr. Great Neck, N.Y.
Kimberly Kravacich Amherst Sr. Chatham, N.J.
Beatrijs Kuijpers Middlebury Jr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Julia LeCoq Trinity Sr. Creteil, France
Devin Mullaney Colby Sr. Boston, Mass.
Hayley Parsons Williams Sr. New Canaan, Conn.
Luca Polgar Bates So. Budapest, Hungary
Laila Samy Wesleyan Sr. Cairo, Egypt
Raneem Sharaf Trinity Sr. Cairo, Egypt
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Haley McAtee Amherst Sr. Greenwich, Conn.
Kristyna Alexova Bates Jr. Boskovice, Czech Republic
Vicky Arjoon Bates Jr. Georgetown, Guyana
Esther Baek Williams Jr. Tenafly, N.J.
Lucy Bostwick Middlebury So. New Canaan, Conn.
Eliza Dunham Bates So. New Haven, Conn.
Vanessa Raj Trinity So. Penang, Malaysia
Min Je Teh Trinity Fy. Klang, Malaysia
Julia Ward Williams Fy. Wilmington, Del.
Julie Yeung Tufts Fy. San Jose, Calif.