Men's Squash All-NESCAC Teams Announced

John Fitzgerald of Williams was named the 2019 NESCAC Player of the Year
HADLEY, Mass. – Williams senior John Fitzgerald has been selected as the 2019 NESCAC Player of the Year by the conference coaches. Fitzgerald is the second Williams player to earn the award, joining Ethan Buchsbaum (2010). Fitzgerald, who plays No. 1 for the Ephs, helped Williams finish as the runner-up at the 2019 NESCAC Championship for the 10th time in program history. He earns a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team for the second year in a row after being named to the Second Team in 2016 and 2017.
Middlebury first-year Justin Ghaeli becomes the first Panther to garner the NESCAC Rookie of the Year honor. Ghaeli plays at the top spot on the ladder for the Panthers, who finished third at the NESCAC Championship and also earned a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team.
Tufts head coach Joe Raho was selected as the NESCAC Men’s Squash Coach of the Year and also earned the NESCAC Women’s Squash Coach of the Year honor. The second-year head coach is the first Jumbo head coach to receive the accolade. He led Tufts to its first semifinal appearance at the NESCAC Championship since 2010. He is the first coach to sweep both men’s and women’s coach of the year honors since Mark Lewis of Middlebury achieved the feat in 2017.
Trinity had the most representatives with four players across the two All-NESCAC squads. Bates, Middlebury, and Williams each had three players recognized.
Bates junior Graham Bonnell and Colby senior Elliot Gross are first-time All-NESCAC honorees. Bonnell has eight wins this season playing No. 1 for the Bobcats, while Gross has six wins at the No. 1 position for the Mules.
Sophomore Terrence Wang of Amherst earns his second All-NESCAC honor, moving up to the First Team after receiving Second Team accolades last season. He has registered nine wins as the No. 1 player for the Mammoths.
Sean Choi, of Wesleyan, is on the All-NESCAC First Team for the second straight year and was the 2018 NESCAC Rookie of the Year. The sophomore has 10 wins at the No. 1 position for the Cardinals.
The Trinity trio of senior Tom De Mulder, junior Kush Kumar, and sophomore Ziad Sakr represent the Bantams, the NESCAC Champion, on the All-NESCAC First Team. De Mulder, the 2016 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, is on the First Team for the first time in his career after being selected to the Second Team in 2016 and 2018. He has nine wins for the Bantams at the No. 3 spot. Kumar is a repeat First Team selection, earning his second All-NESCAC accolade while playing at No. 1 for Trinity and posting seven wins. Sakr has an 11-3 mark for Trinity at the No. 4 position and receives his first All-NESCAC honor.
Middlebury junior Jacob Ellen joins Ghaeli on the First Team. Ellen, a Second Team honoree in 2017 and 2018, has a 14-6 record playing primarily at the No. 2 spot for the Panthers.

Men's Squash All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: John Fitzgerald, Williams
Rookie of the Year: Justin Ghaeli, Middlebury
Coach of the Year: Joe Raho, Tufts

2018-19 NESCAC Men's Squash All-Conference First Team
Name Institution Class Hometown
Graham Bonnell Bates Jr. Southport, Conn.
Sean Choi Wesleyan So. Jung-gu, Seoul
Tom De Mulder Trinity Sr. Ghent, Belgium
Jacob Ellen Middlebury Jr. New York, N.Y.
John Fitzgerald Williams Sr. Greenwich, Conn.
Justin Ghaeli Middlebury Fy. Richmond Hill, Ontario
Elliot Gross Colby Sr. Penn Valley, Pa.
Kush Kumar Trinity Jr. Dhampur, India
Ziad Sakr Trinity So. Tanta, Egypt
Terrance Wang Amherst So. Bellevue, Wash.
2018-19 NESCAC Men's Squash All-Conference Second Team
Name Institution Class Hometown
Omar Attia Bates So. Cairo, Egypt
William Cembalest Middlebury Jr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Harith Khawaja Amherst Sr. Lahore, Pakistan
Wyatt Khosrowshahi Williams So. Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.
Raghav Kumar Tufts Jr. Redwood City, Calif.
Nku Patrick Trinity Sr. San Fernando, Trinidad
Carl Shuck Williams Jr. Rye, N.Y.
Callum Sondhi Hamilton Jr. Summit, N.J.
Alex Spafford Colby Fy. Toronto, Ontario
Ian Squiers Bowdoin Sr. Dayton, Ohio
Mahmoud Yousry Bates Jr. Cairo, Egypt