Williams Wins Men's Swimming & Diving Championship

Williams Wins Men's Swimming & Diving Championship

Courtesy of Wesleyan University Sports Information

Team Standings | Individual Winners

- Williams pulled away from second-place Amherst to take a convincing 112-point victory in securing its 11th straight NESCAC Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship. Williams had 10 first-place finishes while Amherst (1824.5) had a solid nine wins over the course of the meet. Connecticut College (1098), Tufts (1080), and Middlebury (904.5) rounded out the top five. 

Most impressive on the final day was Williams senior Paul Dyrkacz, named Swimmer of the Meet for a third straight year. He won his third event of the meet by defending his title in the 200-yard butterfly, bettering his own NESCAC and meet record of a year ago with a 1:59.68. Dyrkacz was also named Four Year High Point Swimmer. Williams sophomore Christian Gronbeck won the 1,650-yard freestyle (15:46.18).

Amherst claimed four titles on the final day with junior Tyler Bulakul setting a meet and pool record in the 200-yard butterfly (1:48.36) and sophomore Conor Deveney taking the 200-yard backstroke (1:48.78) after setting a NESCAC, meet, and pool record during the preliminaries (1:47.91).  Sophomore Connor Sholtis won the 100-yard freestyle (45.52) and the quartet of sophomore Tyler Hampton, Deveney, Bulakul and Sholtis captured the 400-yard freestyle relay (3:02.48), establishing a new pool record.

On the three-meter board, Tufts junior Johann Schmidt won the event with a meet record score of 570.85. He also earned Diver of the Meet honors for the third consecutive year. Bates senior Travis Jones was the Four Year High Point Diver, while Amherst's Sam Stewart was named Rookie of the Year.