Williams Defends NESCAC Men’s Swimming & Diving Title

Williams Defends NESCAC Men’s Swimming & Diving Title

Courtesy of Wesleyan Sports Information

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. – Williams College won its 15th consecutive – and 16th overall – NESCAC Men’s Swimming & Diving Championship Sunday night at the Wesleyan Natatorium on the campus of Wesleyan University.


The Ephs led after each day and finished the three-day meet with a total of 1,671 points. Amherst finished in second with 1,402 points, while Tufts placed third with 1,391. Rounding out the top five were Connecticut College in fourth (1,331) and Bates in fifth (997.5). Bowdoin took sixth (856) overall followed by Trinity (617), Middlebury (576.5), Wesleyan (469), Colby (462) and Hamilton (332).

Andrew Trunsky of Williams took home the 1650-yard freestyle with a NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 15:44.05, while five others recorded NCAA ‘B’ cut marks. In the following event, teammate Benjamin Lin won the 200 back with a NESCAC Championship meet record of 1:45.88.

In the 100 free, Theodore Pender of Bates recorded a NCAA ‘B’ qualifying time of 44.83 to win the event. Finishing second was Karil Sarier of Bowdoin as he touched the wall with a NCAA ‘B’ cut mark of 44.88.

The top-five finishes in the 200 breast were NCAA ‘B’ qualifying times as Sean Mebust of Amherst took home the crown with a time of 2:00.36.

Seven swimmers claimed NCAA ‘B’ qualifying times in the 200 fly as James McElduff of Tufts took home the crown in 1:49.39. Ali Pourmaleki of Wesleyan finished second in 1:50.06, George Tilneac of Connecticut College took third in 1:50.27 and Stephen Skaperdas of Connecticut College placed fourth in 1:50.67.

Matthew Rohrer of Tufts claimed the 3 meter diving event with 542.90 points, while Mitch Ryan of Bowdoin and Steven Kreuch of Williams finished second (511.25) and third (477.80), respectively. All three totals were NCAA ‘B’ cuts.

Williams wrapped up the night by defending its crown in the 400 free relay as the Ephs set a new pool record with a time of 3:01.30. The ‘A’ team consisted of Curtis Maher, Jamie Finnegan, Grant Johnson and Lin.