Tufts Captures First NESCAC Men’s Swimming & Diving Title

Tufts Captures First NESCAC Men’s Swimming & Diving Title

Courtesy of Bowdoin Sports Information
Photo courtesy of BearSports.com

BRUNSWICK, Maine – The Tufts University men's swimming and diving team pulled away from Williams on the final day of competition to claim its first-ever New England Small College Athletic Conference Championship on Sunday at Greason Pool on the campus of Bowdoin College.

Complete Results
Day 3 Results
Individual Event Winners & All-NESCAC Honorees
Team Standings

The victory for the Jumbos snaps a 15-year winning streak by Williams in the championship and they become the only team other than Williams and Middlebury to win a NESCAC title.

Tufts finished with 1671 points overall to comfortably defeat the second-place Ephs (1590). Amherst took third place with 1467.5 while Bowdoin finishes a best-ever fourth with a school-record 976.5 points. Connecticut College (906.5), Bates (854.5), Middlebury (667.5), Colby (570.5), Trinity (565), Wesleyan (494) and Hamilton (376) rounded out the field.

The final day of action saw numerous repeat winners, including a pair from the host school. Karl Sarier won the 100-yard freestyle (44.47) to cap a sensational weekend for the Polar Bears, and seal NESCAC Swimmer of the Year honors. Teammate Mitch Ryan completed a sweep of the diving events, claiming the three-meter board by a 0.15 margin and finishing with 458.10 points to clinch NESCAC Diver of the Year recognition.

For the NESCAC champs, Kingsley Bowen earned another victory in the 200-yard backstroke in a pool-record pace of 1:46.88 and then contributed to his team's meet-ending win in the 400-yard freestyle relay, teaming with James McElduff, Lorenzo Lau and Roger Gu to win in a meet-record time of 3:00.79.

Williams picked up a pair of individual wins as Jamie Lovette captured another first-place finish with a victory in the 1650 freestyle in a time of 15:37.40 to seal NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors. Lucca Delcompare claimed the 200-yard butterfly for the Ephs in 1:48.68.

The other individual win of the session went to Amherst's Sean Mebust, who took the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:00.60.

The top three individuals and top three relay teams earn All-NESCAC honors.

NESCAC Swimmer of the Year – Karl Sarier, Bowdoin College
- Sarier is the first Polar Bear to earn the plaudit.

NESCAC Diver of the Year – Mitch Ryan, Bowdoin College
- Ryan is the first Bowdoin diver to receive the honor.

NESCAC Rookie of the Year – Jamie Lovette, Williams College
- Lovette is the third Eph to be named Rookie of the Year, joining Benjamin Lin (2014) and Andrew Trunsky (2017).

NESCAC Swimming Coach of the Year – Adam Hoyt, Tufts University
- Hoyt garnered his second NESCAC Coach of the Year honor, having previously earned the honor in 2006.

NESCAC Diving Coach of the Year – Kelsey Willard, Bowdoin College
- Williard earns Men's Diving Coach of the Year honors for the first time in her career and is the first Bowdoin coach to receive the award.

NESCAC 4-Year High Point Diver Award – Aaron Idelson, Tufts University
- Idelson is the fifth Tufts diver to garner the honor, joining Rob Matera (2010), Trevor Stack (2011), Johann Schmidt (2014) and Matthew Rohrer (2017).

NESCAC 4-Year High Point Swimmer Award – Timothy Kostolansky, Williams College
- Kostolansky is the 12th Eph to earn the High Point Swimmer honor, and the fifth in six years.

1.  Tufts University -- 1671
2.  Williams College --1590  
3.  Amherst College --1467.5  
4.  Bowdoin College -- 976.5  
5.  Connecticut College -- 906.5  
6.  Bates College -- 854.5  
7.  Middlebury College -- 667.5  
8.  Colby College -- 570.5  
9.  Trinity College  -- 565 
10. Wesleyan University -- 494 
11. Hamilton College -- 376