Four NESCAC Teams Earn Top-10 Finishes at NCAA Championships

Four NESCAC Teams Earn Top-10 Finishes at NCAA Championships

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The 2018 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships concluded with four NESCAC teams finishing in the Top-10 and six teams were among the Top-15 in the final standings.


The Williams women's team finished third overall with 412 points to lead all NESCAC teams. Amherst placed eighth (158) and Bates finished with 76 points for 12th. Emory captured its ninth consecutive women's title with 603 points.

Tufts led the men's contingent of conference teams with 198 points to finish seventh, marking the Jumbos' best finish since 1982. Williams finished 10th (149 points) and Bates placed 14th (98 points). Denison won its second men's championship in three years with 596.5 points.

In the men's 1650-yard freestyle, five NESCAC swimmers were among the top-16 finishers. Three Ephs finished in the top-10 led by rookie James Lovette's fourth-place finish and time of 15:32.96. Classmate Jason Karofsky placed sixth (15:38.16) and sophomore Andrew Trunsky was seventh (15:39.68). All three swimmers earned All-America honors. Tufts first-year John LaLime finished 13th (15:52.00) to grab Honorable Mention All-America accolades.

First-year Laura Westphal of Williams captured the individual national title in the women's 1650-yard freestyle race. She posted a time of 16:35.20. Teammate and junior Alison McNamara finished eighth (17:01.72) and both Ephs earned All-America honors.

In the men's 100-yard freestyle, Tufts sophomore Roger Gu was the national runner up with a time of 43.44 and earned All-America honors. Bates senior Theodore Pender and Bowdoin junior Karl Sarier placed 12th and 13th, respectively. Pender recorded a time of 44.77, while Sarier touched the wall in a time of 44.87. Both athletes earned Honorable Mention All-America honors.

Williams senior Emma Waddell was the lone NESCAC swimmer to qualify for the finals of the women's 100-yard freestyle. She finished second with a time of 49.72 to earn All-America honors as the national runner-up.

In the men's 200-yard backstroke, Tufts junior Kingsley Bowen placed third with a time of 1:46.36 to earn All-America honors. Bates senior Riley Ewing finished 10th (1:47.96) in the consolation final and picked up Honorable Mention All-America honors.

Bowdoin sophomore Marshall Lowery and Amherst senior Stephanie Moriarty finished 6-7 in the women's 200-yard backstroke final. Lowery recorded a time of 2:01.19, while Moriarty posted a time of 2:01.32 and both swimmers earned All-America honors. Junior Bridgitte Kwong of Amherst placed 10th (2:01.69) in the consolation final to earn Honorable Mention All-America honors.

In the women's 200-yard breaststroke, Williams sophomore Caroline White was the national runner-up, registering a time of 2:13.45. Amherst first-year Nin Fitzgerald placed sixth (2:17.08) in the championship final and both swimmers earned All-America honors. In the consolation final race, Tufts senior Anna Kimura placed 12th (2:19.28) to earn Honorable Mention All-America honors.

Amherst first-year Lindsey Ruderman picked up 14 points for the Mammoths with a fifth-place finish in the 3-meter diving event. She recorded 480.15 points to earn All-America accolades.

The 400-yard freestyle relay marked final event of the 2018 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships. In the men's race, Tufts finished eighth. Seniors James McElduff, Lawrence Lau, Zachary Wallace and sophomore Gu combined for a time of 3:00.47.

The Williams team of seniors Mike Cassidy and Timothy Kotsolansky, along with junior Curtis Maher and Lovette placed 12th (3:02.53). Bates followed in 14th (3:03.07) with the team of senior Jonathan DePew, Pender, junior Alexander Bedard and sophomore Tanner Fuller. The team of seniors George Tilneac, Drake Freiberg, first-year Charlie Adl and sophomore Kaison Ifill led Connecticut College to a time of 3:04.41 to finish 16th.

In the women's race, Williams finished fifth, Bates placed sixth and Wesleyan and Amherst went 9-10. The Williams team of first-year Rollie Grinder, Westphal and senior Madeline Downs and Waddell posted a time of 3:24.71. The Bobcats squad of senior Logan McGill, first-year Caroline Apathy and sophomores b and Janika Ho combined for a time of 3:26.29.

The Wesleyan team of senior Zoe Kerrich and sophomores Caroline Murphy, Hannah O'Halloran and Grace Middleton finished with a time of 3:26.29. Senior Geralyn Lam, Moriarty, along with sophomore Natalie Rumplet and junior Livia Domenig led the Mammoths with a time of 3:26.89.