Five NESCAC Swimming & Diving Teams Among Top-10 Standings at NCAAs

Williams senior Maia Hare won the 100 butterfly on Day 2 of the NCAA Championships (Photo Credit: ODAC)

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Three men's teams and two women's teams from the NESCAC are among the top-10 in the team standings following the second day of competition at the NCAA Men's and Women's Swimming & Diving Championships at the Greensboro Aquatics Center in Greensboro, N.C.


Tufts, Williams, and Amherst stand seventh, eighth and ninth respectively in the men's standings. The Jumbos have 92 points and are followed by the Ephs (74) and Mammoths (72). Bowdoin has 13 points, good for 25th place.

The Williams women lead the NESCAC with 181 points (4th). Bowdoin is 10th (67 points) and followed by Amherst (13th – 54 points), Bates (14th – 47.5 points) and Tufts (16th – 41 points). Connecticut College (21st – 19 points) and Wesleyan (25th – 14 points) round out the league's teams in the standings.

Williams senior Maia Hare won the NCAA title in the women's 100 butterfly to highlight the individual performances on the second night.

The Tufts men's 200 freestyle relay squad opened the evening session with a runner-up performance. The foursome of junior Roger Gu, senior Kingsley Bowen, junior Costantino Camerano, and sophomore Julian Batt combined for a time of 1:20.66 to earn All-America honors. The team earned the final qualifying spot in the championship final and finished the race breaking the NESCAC record (1:21.21) the Jumbos set at the 2019 NESCAC Championships.

In the consolation final the Williams squad of sophomore Henry Marquardt, senior Curtis Maher, and sophomores David Pearcy and James Lovette finished 12th (1:22.31), while the Amherst relay team of first-year Scott Romeyn, junior Jack Koravos, sophomore Tristian So, and junior Eric Wong registered a time of 1:22.61 to place 14th.

In the women's 200 freestyle race, Bowdoin represented the NESCAC in the championship final. Sophomore Mary Laurita, junior Marshall Lowery, senior Sterling Dixon, and junior Amanda Banasiak combined for a time of 1:34.17 to finish sixth and earn All-America recognition.

Williams and Bates competed in the consolation final. The Ephs placed 11th as Hare, senior Dana Chung, and sophomores Gwyneth Maloy and Laura Westphal recorded a time of 1:34.33. Junior Janika Ho, first-year Suzanna Ryckman, and sophomores Erin Bucki and Caroline Apathy led Bates to a 13th place finish and time of 1:35.24.

Williams sophomore Molly Craig was the top qualifier in the women's 400 individual medley after the morning prelims. She finished as the national runner-up in the event in the championship final, posting a time of 4:15.46. Amherst senior Bridgitte Kwong placed seventh (4:25.66), while junior Ellie Sherman of Williams (4:26.29) and sophomore Abby Claus of Tufts (4:27.92) placed 11th and 13th, respectively. Craig and Kwong earned All-America honors while Sherman and Claus were honorable mention honorees.

Sophomore Jackson Karofsky finished 11th for the Ephs in the men's 400 IM, posting a time of 3:54.95 and improving on his prelim time from the morning session.

Hare's win in the women's 100 butterfly marked the third straight year an Eph took home the national title. She touched the wall with a winning time of 54.58. Bates' Caroline Apathy tied for third (54.90) and Bowdoin sophomore Mary Laurita was fifth (54.91) to round out the championship final and All-Americans. In the consolation final, sophomore Amy Socha of Tufts won the heat with a time of 55.22 to finish ninth overall and Williams first-year Anna Peterson was 15th (55.82).

Williams' Pearcy led the men's swimmers in the 100 butterfly. He placed 11th (48.53), while Amherst junior Jack Koravos was 16th (48.99).

In the women's 200 freestyle Fiona Muir of Emory out-touched Williams' Westphal by four one-hundredths of a second to claim the national title in the 200 freestyle. Westphal touched the wall at 1:47.74 to finish as the national runner-up. Bowdoin's Sterling Dixon finished fourth (1:49.77) and Amherst junior Natalie Rumpelt placed eighth (1:51.23). All three swimmers earned All-America citations. In the consolation final, Williams sophomore Casey Delano and Tufts first-year Mary Hufziger finished 13th and 14th, respectively. Delano recorded a time of 1:51.22, while Hufziger clocked in at 1:51.30.

Williams sophomore James Lovette represented the NESCAC in the championship final and finished third with a time of 1:38.14 to claim All-America honors. Teammates Henry Marquardt (1:39.61) and junior Lucca Delcompare (1:39.86) placed 13th and 15th, respectively in the consolation final.

Three NESCAC divers competed in the men's 1-meter competition on Thursday. Bowdoin senior Mitch Ryan paced the group, finishing sixth with 479.65 points. Amherst junior Bennett Fagan added an eighth-place finish (470.80 points) and fellow Mammoth, Tom Amsbry, a first-year, placed 12th (435.05 points) in his NCAA debut. Ryan and Fagan earned All-America honors, while Amsbry earned honorable mention recognition.

In the 400 medley relay closed out Thursday's evening session. In the women's race, the Williams team of juniors Caroline Conforti, Caroline White, Maia Hare, and Laura Westphal finished fourth with a time of 3:43.90 to score for the Ephs.

In the consolation final the Tufts squad of first-year Emma Donchi, sophomore Lily Kurtz, Amy Socha, and Mary Hufziger finished 11th (3:47.90). Amherst, Wesleyan, and Bates all finished 14-15-16, respectively overall. The Amherst team of Bridgitte Kwong, sophomore Nina Fitzgerald, first-year Marie Fagan, and Natalie Rumpelt posted a time of 3:49.24. Wesleyan's squad of junior Caroline Murphy, first-year Willa Gibbs, senior Maela Whitcomb, and junior Grace Middleton combined for a time of 3:49.78 and the Bates relay of first-year Isabel Mohammadi-Hall, junior Emily Daigle, Caroline Apathy and Janika Ho recorded a time of 3:51.52.

The Amherst men's relay finished eighth. The team of juniors Craig Smith, Sean Mebust and Koravos, along with Romeyn recorded a time of 3:17.49. Tufts added a 10th place finish and time of 3:16.93 with first-years Joseph Tingen, Tar Tar Jarusinchai, Kngsley Bowen, and Roger Gu representing the Jumbos.

The NCAA Championships continue on Friday with the morning prelims at 10 a.m., followed by the finals at 6 p.m.