Five NESCAC Teams Earn Top-10 Finishes at NCAA Championships

Williams sophomore Laura Westphal won the 1650 freestyle for the second straight year.

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 2019 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships concluded with five NESCAC teams finishing in the Top-10 in the team standings.


The Williams women's team finished fourth overall with 323 points to lead all NESCAC teams. Amherst placed eighth (129 points) and was followed by Bowdoin in 12th (112 points). Connecticut College (85 points) and Tufts (80 points) finished 15th and 16th, respectively. Bates (53.5 points) and Wesleyan (30 points) rounded out the NESCAC teams placing 20th and 25th. Emory captured its 10th consecutive women's title with 488 points.

Williams also led the four NESCAC men's team at the championships. The Ephs finished seventh with 162 points. Amherst was ninth (149.5 points), Tufts finished 10th (147 points), and Bowdoin placed 19th (38 points). Denison won its third men's championship in four years with 562.5 points.

Williams sophomore Laura Westphal captured the individual national title in the women's 1650 freestyle for the second year in a row, posting a time of 16:35.50 and beating out her closest competitor by nearly 10 seconds. Teammate and senior Alison McNamara finished 14th (17:07.48) and Bates senior Lucy Faust was 28th (17:33.19). Westphal earned All-America honors, while McNamara picked up an Honorable Mention All-America citation.

In the men's 1650 freestyle fellow Eph and sophomore Jackson Karofsky placed third to earn All-America honors. Karofsky, who improved on his sixth-place finish last year, posted a time of 15:23.06. Classmate James Lovette added an 11th place finish for Williams with a time of 15:39.77. Emory's Thomas Gordon won the individual title with a time of 15:14.84.

Connecticut College senior Olivia Haskell was the lone NESCAC swimmer to qualify for the evening session of the women's 100-yard freestyle. She finished 10th with a time of 50.64 to earn Honorable Mention All-America honors.

In the men's 100-yard freestyle, Tufts junior Roger Gu was the top qualifier from the morning session and finished as the national runner up with a time of 43.70 to earn All-America honors. Emory's Trey Kolleck out-dueled Gu for the top spot, posting a winning time of 43.31. Amherst first-year Scott Romeyn, the NESCAC Rookie of the Year, tied for 15th with a time of 45.08 to earn Honorable Mention All-America recognition.

Three NESCAC swimmers competed in the consolation final of the 200 backstroke. Williams sophomore Gwyneth Maloy's 11th-place finish (2:02.22) led the trio. Amherst senior Bridgitte Kwong finished 13th (2:03.32) and Williams first-year Abby Matheny placed 14th (2:02.44). All three swimmers earned Honorable Mention All-America honors.

In the men's race Amherst junior Craig Smith led the NESCAC with a time of 1:48.60 to finish seventh in the championship final which was won by Byrne Litschgi of Chicago (1:44.04). Tufts senior Kingsley Bowen placed 13th overall with a time of 1:48.81 to earn Honorable Mention All-America honors. 

In the women's 200 breaststroke, Williams junior Caroline White finished third (2:13.91) and Amherst sophomore Nina Fitzgerald placed seventh (2:18.09) in the championship final and both swimmers earned All-America honors. Denison's KT Kustritz took first place with a time of 2:12.33. In the consolation final race, Tufts sophomore Lily Kurtz was 15th (2:19.57) to earn Honorable Mention All-America honors.

Emory's Jason Hamilton won the men's 200 breaststroke race with a time of 1:57.34. Amherst junior Sean Mebust represented the NESCAC and posted a time of 1:58.92 to finish fifth and earn All-America honors. 

In the final diving event of the championships, Amherst junior Bennett Fagan and Bowdoin senior Mitch Ryan finished fifth and eighth, respectively on the 3-meter board. Fagan posted a mark of 531.80 points, while Ryan recorded 495.95 points and both divers earned All-America honors. MIT first-year Jay Lang captured the title with 552.65 points.

The 400-yard freestyle relay marked final event of the 2019 NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships. In the women's race, Williams led the three NESCAC teams in the championship final. The foursome of first-year Anna Peterson, sophomore Molly Craig, first-year Georgia Panitz, and sophomore Laura Westphal posted a time of 3:24.53 to finish fourth. The Bowdoin relay of sophomore Mary Laurita, junior Marshall Lowery, senior Sterling Dixon, and junior Amanda Banasiak finished just behind in fifth (3:25.30). The Connecticut College squad of first-year Vaughn Ammon, sophomores Mackenzie Healy and Madison Ford, and senior Olivia Haskell placed seventh (3:25.83). The Kenyon squad won the event with a time of 3:20.05.

Bates and Tufts rounded out the conference teams in the event finishing 15th and 16th, respectively. Junior Janika Ho, sophomore Caroline Apathy, and first-years Caroline Sweeney and Suzanna Ryckman combined for a time of 3:28.27 for the Bobcats. The Jumbos' team of junior Grace Goetcheus, first-year Mary Hufziger, senior Colleen Doolan, and sophomore Amy Socha recorded a time of 3:28.80.

Lindsey Ruderman, Amherst Tufts was the lone men's team in the championship final of the men's 400 freestyle relay. The squad of sophomore Tyler Tatro, junior Roger Gu, senior Kingsley Bowen, and first-year Victor Volbrechthausen finished seventh (3:01.07). Denison won the race with a time of 2:57.52 to secure first place in the team standings.

Three teams from the NESCAC competed in the consolation final led by the Williams team of sophomore David Pearcy, senior Curtis Maher, and sophomores James Lovette and Henry Marquardt. They combined for a time of 3:00.35 to win the consolation race and finish ninth overall. Amherst and Bowdoin placed 11th and 13th, respectively. Juniors Jack Koravos and Eric Wong, along with senior Charles Seltzer and first-year Scott Romeyn posted a time of 3:01.47 for the Mammoths and the Polar Bear foursome of senior Karl Sarier, first-year Theodore Mebust, and juniors Julian Abaldo and Andrew MacDonald finished with a time of 3:02.24.

Amherst sophomore Lindsey Ruderman, who won the national championship in the 1-meter and 3-meter events, was named the Diver of the Year as determined by the CSCAA.