Williams Wins 2001 Men's & Women's Track & Field Championships

Courtesy Wesleyan Sports Information

Individual Results

MIDDLETOWN, Conn. — Williams captured the men’s and women’s team titles at the 2001 NESCAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships hosted by Wesleyan University. The championship was the Ephs’ 11th in the men’s competition, including ninth in the past 10 years. The women’s title was the ninth for Williams, its sixth in the last eight years.

Juniors Kate Irvin and Ethan Barron of Middlebury earned Women’s and Men’s Most Outstanding Performer honors, respectively. Irvin won the 800 meters in 2:15.95 and the 1,500 meters in 4:39.06. Barron won the 200-meter dash in 22.11 seconds and the 110-meter high hurdles in 14.62 seconds. He also finished second in the 100-meter dash and the long jump, and placed third in the triple jump.

Rita Forte of the Ephs broke a NESCAC record and automatically qualified for the NCAA Division III Outdoor Track and Field Championships by winning the long jump with a leap of 5.76 meters. She bettered the mark of 5.68 meters set by Carol Tate of Tufts in 1990. Kristy Laramee of Middlebury also set a NESCAC record and automatically qualified for the national championship by winning the high jump with a jump of 1.74 meters. She broke her own record of 1.67 meters set in last year’s conference meet. Sarah Deeb of Tufts set a NESCAC record by winning the 200-meter dash in 25.25 seconds, breaking the old record of 25.29 seconds, set by Carrie Elsen of Williams in 1996.

Other individual winners for the Williams women included Julia Bensen in the 5,000 meters and Forte in the 100-meter high hurdles. Williams field event winners included Meredith Jones in the triple jump, Healy Thompson in the shot put and hammer throw, and Diane Williams in the discus. Melissa Purdy of Williams won the heptathlon.

On the men’s side for the Ephs, Dusty Lopez won the 10,000 meters and Ed Rossier captured the 400-meter intermediate hurdles. Williams swept the relay events, winning the 400-, 1,600-, and 3,200-meter events. The Ephs’ winning time of 3:18.10 in the 1,600-meter relay set a NESCAC record, bettering the previous mark of 3:18.16 set by Tufts in 1993. In the field events, Jason Mirach captured the long jump and triple jump, Malcolm Perry won the pole vault and Trey Wright won the shot put.

Other individual winners in the women’s championship included Jenna Flateman of Wesleyan in the 100-meter dash, Maggie Hanson of Hamilton in the 1,500 meters, and Kate Nelson of the Continentals in the 10,000 meters. Julia Febiger of Bowdoin won the 400-meter intermediate hurdles, Elizabeth Frederick of Colby captured the pole vault, and Elissa Burnell of Middlebury won the javelin.

Other individual winners in the men’s championship included Erik Zwick of Bates in the 100-meter dash, Jared Beers of Colby in the 400 meters, and Sam Brown of Hamilton in the 800 meters. Ryan Bak of Trinity won the 1,500 meters, Stephen Allison of Bowdoin won the 5,000 meters, and Justin Easter of Bates captured the 3,000-meter steeplechase. James Wilkins of Bowdoin won the high jump, Jaime Sawler of Bates captured the discus and the hammer throw, and Bryan Black of Middlebury won the javelin.

Middlebury finished second in the women’s standings and third in the men’s standings. Bates placed second in the men’s team standings.

Women Final Standings     Men Final Standings  
1. Williams 209.5   1. Williams 225
2. Middlebury
  2. Bates
3. Wesleyan
124.5   3. Middlebury
4. Colby
106   4. Bowdoin
5. Tufts
70.5   5. Tufts
6. Hamilton
42   6. Trinity
7. Bowdoin
39   7. Amherst
    Connecticut College    
39   8. Colby
9. Amherst
28   9. Hamilton
10. Trinity
19       Wesleyan
11. Bates
  11. Connecticut College  


Kamm posted a GPA of 3.76 majoring in Spanish and that performance combined with his win in the at the NCAA Outdoor Championships earned him the honor of US Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Scholar Athlete of the Year. Kamm is the first NESCAC Athlete to be so honored by the USTFCCCA.

No one would have predicted that Kamm would win this year’s NCAA 5K at the end of the 2009 season, considering a year ago he could not even break 15:30 in the event. He won this year in 14:28, just two seconds off his personal best and almost 62 seconds faster than he ran in 2009.

Connor Kamm '10 winning 2010 NCAA 5K

It is unusual in a national championship final to come close to a personal best, as most often the race is more tactics than speed. Kamm was not only able to deliver one of his fastest times ever, but also out kicked two talented runners to take the title in 14:28.06. Kamm's strength in the 5000m and what proved to be his advantage over the rest of the competition, is his ability to sustain a quick pace and then still unleash a blistering kick, which is exactly the strategy he employed en route to his 5K victory.

Kamm was one of seven Ephs to qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, compiling a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 and having met either the NCAA Division III Indoor or Outdoor automatic or provisional qualifying standard. The Eph total of seven academic honorees was the tops among NESCAC teams.

Joining Kamm in receiving academic recognition are Chris Fogler, Richard Fusco, Josephat Koima, Isaac Nicholson, Anthony Raduazo and Corey Watts. Additionally Watts won a prestigious and nationally competitive Watson Fellowship for graduate study.