Williams Wins 2005 Men's & Women's Track & Field Championships

Courtesy Colby Sports Information

Schedule of Events
Qualifying Standards
Individual Results


WATERVILLE, Maine - The Williams College men's and women's track and field teams each won the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Track and Field Championship for the fifth straight year during the 2005 meet at Colby College on Saturday. The Williams men have won 13 of the last 14 championships, while the women's team has won 10 of the last 12 titles.

The Williams men scored 198.5 points in the 11-team meet. Tufts University placed second with 135.50 points, Middlebury took third with 124 and Bates accumulated 103 points for fourth place. For the women, Williams finished with 211 points, Tufts had 126.5, Middlebury compiled 98 points with Colby College a close fourth with 97.5.

Katie Fulton led the Williams women with victories in the 100-meter dash (12.63) and the 200-meter dash (26.28. She also ran the lead leg on the Ephs' winning 400-meter relay team (49.44).

Amherst's Carter Hamill and Shauneen Garrahan each broke NESCAC championship meet records. Hamill broke her own record of last year in winning the 5,000-meter run in 17:00.02. She had a time of 17:02.78 a year ago. Meanwhile, Garrahan smashed the 3,000-meter steeplechase record with a time of 10:44.42. Jen Campbell of Williams College had a time of 10:58.82 in the 2002 meet.

Kelly Godsey of Bates College won two events and also broke her own NESCAC championship meet record in the hammer throw. Godsey had a toss of 58.50 at last year's meet in the hammer, but went further this year at 59.90. Godsey also won the shot put in 13.20 meters, but missed the chance to win three events by fouling out in the discus.

For the men, John Symanski of Williams won the 100-meter dash (10.98), 200-meter dash (21.80) and was the anchor leg on the record-setting 400-meter relay team. Symanski joined forces with Andrew Aarons, Max Mogosi and Drew Raab for a NESCAC championship meet record time of 41.71. They broke the 1992 record of 42.28 set by Colby.

Williams' Dan Austin broke the discus throw championship meet record with a winning toss of 57.91 meters. The old record was set in 1991 Nathaniel Wheatley of Bates at 51.54.

Middlebury's Kevin Bright matched Symanski with two victories and helped a relay team to a championship meet record. Bright won the 400-meter run in 48.47 and then came back to take the 400-meter hurdles in 53.19.

Bright, Nick Digani, Patrick Swan and Dave LaRocca broke the meet record in the 1,600 relay with a 3:17.95. The old record was 3:18.10 set by Williams in 2001.

Women Final Standings     Men Final Standings  
1. Williams 211   1. Williams 198.5
2. Tufts 126.5 
  2. Tufts 135.5
3. Middlebury 98   3. Middlebury 124
4. Colby 97.5   4. Bates 103
5. Amherst 66   5. Bowdoin
6. Bates 52.5   6. Colby 45
7. Bowdoin 51   7. Hamilton 42
8. Trinity 41       Wesleyan 42
9. Wesleyan 36   9. Amherst 39
10. Hamilton  
23.5   10. Trinity   20
11. Connecticut College
16   11. Connecticut College