Middlebury Repeats as NESCAC Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championship

Middlebury repeated as NESCAC Champion and won the title for the second time in program history

MIDDLEBURY, Vt. – The Middlebury men’s track & field team won its second-straight NESCAC Championship and the second in program history on Saturday as the Panthers hosted the 2019 edition of the NESCAC Championships at Dragone Complex.


Middlebury won nine events and finished in the top three in 20 events overall to record 201 points. Tufts was the 2019 runner-up with 143 points and Amherst totaled 130 points to round out the top three teams. Williams (102.50 points), Bates (69 points) and Bowdoin (60.50 points) finished fourth, fifth, and sixth, respectively. Wesleyan was seventh with 32 points and followed by Hamilton (27 points), Colby (22 points), Connecticut College (16 points), and Trinity (15 points).

In the opening race of the 2019 NESCAC Men’s and Women’s Track & Field Championships, Clark Ricciardelli of Amherst came from behind down the stretch to win the men’s 10,000-meter race. Ricciardelli, a runner-up last year, posted a winning time of 31:21.66. Middlebury’s Theodore Henderson claimed first place in the men’s 3,000-meter Steeplechase, crossing the finish line with a winning time of 9:23.70 on his home track. Williams sophomore Aidan Ryan won both the 1,500 and 5,000-meter races. Ryan posted a time of 3:55.61 in the 1,500-meters and crossed the finish line in a time of 15:06.25 to score 20 points for the Ephs.

Junior Nick Hendrix of Middlebury won both the 100 and 200-meter races. He defended his title in the 100-meter dash, posting a time of 10.60 seconds. He entered the 200-meter dash with the third-best time but clocked in at 21.71 to claim the NESCAC title.

The Panthers swept the 400-meter race, led by senior Jimmy Martinez. He won the title for the second straight year with a time of 50.06 seconds. Teammates Josh Howard (50.89) and William Robertson (51.02) followed in second and third place, respectively. Hamilton sophomore Lucas Wright captured first in the 800-meter race with a time of 1:52.46, after entering the race with the best time in the league this season.

In the hurdles, Tufts senior Josh Etkind, the NESCAC record holder in the 110-meter hurdles, won the event for the third consecutive year, recording a time of 14.82 seconds. Colby junior Sage Bailin also defended his title in the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 53.71.

The Panthers’ 4x100 relay team repeated as NESCAC Champions. The squad of Noah Wagner-Carlberg, Hendrix, Arden Coleman, and Conor Banky edged the Amherst squad by .01 second with a time of 42.76.  Middlebury also claimed the NESCAC title in the 4x400 for the fourth straight year. The foursome of Coleman, Robertson, Howard, and Martinez recorded a winning time of 3:23.35. Amherst defended its title in the 4x800 relay as Ermias Kebede, Jacob Silverman, Kristian Sogaard, and Andrew Swenson combined for a time of 7:58.11.

Middlebury won three titles in the field event, led by senior John Natalone who set a NESCAC record and won the pole vault for the second time in his career with a mark of 4.85 meters. He also claimed the title in 2017 and a Panther has won the event three times in the last four years.

Williams senior Ian Kagame entered the high jump with the top height in the league this season (2.01 meters) and won the event with a mark of 2.00 meters. Tufts sophomore Matthew Manteiga won the long jump with a leap of 6.95 meters, while Amherst first-year Yaseen Zarroug claimed first in the triple jump with a mark of 13.93 meters.

Junior Kevin Quinsumbing of Tufts won the shot put (14.44 meters), while the Middlebury duo of Zack Seib (42.63m) and Minhaj Rahman (57.33m) earned first place in the discus and hammer throw, respectively. Bates sophomore Zach Smith became the second Bobcat to win the javelin in three years, recording a top throw of 52.99 meters.

* The top three finishers in each event and the top three relay teams earn All-NESCAC honors

2019 NESCAC Men's Track & Field Event Winners
Event First Place Second Place Third Place
100-meter dash Nick Hendrix (Middlebury) -10.60 Henry Buren (Amherst) - 10.69 Anthony Kardonsky (Tufts) - 11.10
200-meter dash Nick Hendrix (Middlebury) - 21.71 Henry Buren (Amherst) - 21.89 Anthony Kardonsky (Tufts) - 21.97
400-meter dash Jimmy Martinez (Middlebury) - 50.06 Josh Howard (Middlebury) - 50.89 William Robertson (Middlebury) - 51.02
800-meter run Lucas Wright (Hamilton) - 1:52.45 Nathan Hill (Middlebury) - 1:53.40 Hiroto Watanabe (Tufts) - 1:55.36
1,500-meter run Aidan Ryan (Williams) - 3:55.61 Jon Perlman (Middlebury) - 3:58.01 Nathan Hill (Middlebury) - 3:58.48
3,000-meter Steeplechase Theo Henderson (Middlebury) - 9:23.70 Jacob Kahrs (Williams) - 9:26.48 Bart Rust (Bates) - 9:32.09
5,000-meter run Aidan Ryan (Williams) - 15:05.25 Spencer Ferguson-Dryden (Amherst) - 15:10.06 Brian Reaney (Tufts) - 15:13.35
10,000-meter run Clark Ricciardelli (Amherst) - 31:20.66 Danny Aschale (Connecticut College) - 31:23.94 Sean MacDonald (Bowdoin) - 31:37.55
110-meter hurdles Josh Etkind (Tufts) - 14.82 Tanner Burton (Colby) - 14.96 Maxim Doiron (Amherst) - 15.23
400-meter hurdles Sage Bailin (Colby) - 53.71 Riley Patten (Tufts) - 55.34 Kevin DeLoughry (Wesleyan) - 56.24
High Jump Ian Kagame (Williams) - 2.0 meters Beaufils Kimpolo-Pene (Bates) - 1.95 meters Joseph Staudt (Bowdoin) - J1.95 meters
Long Jump Matthew Manteiga (Tufts) - 6.95 meters Reed Foster (Bowdoin) - 6.87 meters Max Memeger (Middlebury) - 6.86 meters
Triple Jump Jaseen Zarroug (Amherst) - 13.93 meters Jordan Edwards (Amherst) - 13.75 meters Brendan Donahue (Bates) - 13.71 meters
Javelin Zack Smith (Bates) - 52.99 meters Henry Hintermeister (Tufts) - 52.34 meters Alfred Hurley (Middlebury) - 51.28 meters
Discus  Zack Sieb (Middlebury) - 42.63 meters  Christian Trebisacci (Tufts) - 42.49 meters  Minaj Rahman (Middlebury) - 41.06 meters
Hammer Minhaj Rahman (Middlebury) - 57.33 meters John Rex (Bates) - 55.11 meters Nathaniel Klein (Middlebury) - 46.89 meters
Shot Put Kevin Quisumbing (Tufts) - 14.44 meters Nathaniel Klein (Middlebury) - 14.35 meters John Rex (Bates) - J14.35 meters
Pole Vault John Natalone (Middlebury) - 4.85 meters Ben Wallace (Tufts) - 4.70 meters Andrew McCracken (Wesleyan) - 4.55 meters
4x100-meter relay Middlebury (Noah Wagner-Carlberg, Nick Hendrix, Arden Coleman, Conor Banky) - 42.76 Bowdoin (Mason Freeman, Owen Tuck, Troy Green, Yaw Sekyere) - 42.77 Tufts (Brandon Levenstein, Anthony Kardonsky, Thomas Miller, OJ Armstrong) - 43.11
4x400-meter relay Middlebury (Arden Coleman, William Robertson, Josh Howard, Jimmy Martinez) - 3:23.35 Amherst (Kyland Smith, Stanley Dunwell, Brad Besson, Ryan Prenosil) - 3:24.27 Williams (Chris Bassett, Elliott Fong, Cole O'Flaherty, Tristan Colaizzi) - 3:27.68
4x800-meter relay Amherst (Ermias Kebede, Jacob Silverman, Kristian Sogaard, Estevan Velez) - 7:58.11 Williams (Jett Ballantyne, Peter Kirgis, Elias Lindgren, Lucas Estrada) - 8:00.82 Middlebury (Nathan Hill, Liam Hoagland, Sawyer Tadano, James McGaugh) - 8:03.37