Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

HADLEY, Mass. – Hamilton senior forward Katie Parkman (Stratford, Prince Edward Island) has been selected by the conference coaches as the 2017 NESCAC Player of the Year. In 16 conference games this season, Parkman tallied 17 points and led the league in assists (12) and power-play points (1-7-8). She also accounted for 25 percent of the scoring for the Continentals during conference play this season. Parkman helped Hamilton to an 14-7-3 overall record and a 9-5-2 mark in NESCAC play en route to the No. 3 seed in the NESCAC Championship. Parkman is the second Hamilton player to be named Player of the Year, joining former Continental Stephanie Miguel (2009).

  • Four players are making their first appearance on the All-NESCAC Teams, while all six players on the First Team are repeat all-conference honorees.
  • Three Bowdoin and Middlebury players received All-NESCAC recognition, while Amherst and Hamilton had two players garner all-conference accolades. Connecticut College and Williams each had one player land on the all-conference teams.
  • Amherst junior Alex Toupal was selected to the First Team for the second time in her career after leading all NESCAC players with a league-high 12 goals, including a league-leading four power-play markers, in 16 conference games. The forward also played a key role on Amherst’s penalty-kill unit, as she tallied two short-handed points. Toupal dished out eight assists to wrap up conference play with 20 points.
  • Forward Jessica Young of Middlebury made the jump to the First Team after two years of being selected to the Second Team. The junior, who was the 2015 Rookie of the Year, tied for the league lead in scoring with 20 points on nine goals and 11 assists in 16 conference games. Young was a key player for the Panthers on special teams, tallying six points on the power play and a league-best three points and two goals on the penalty kill.
  • Amherst defender Caitlyn Ryan repeats as a First Team selection and earns her third straight All-NESCAC honor. The senior tied for the conference lead in defender scoring with nine points on one goal and eight assists during conference competition.
  • Middlebury senior Carly Watson landed on the All-NESCAC First Team for the third time in her career after garnering First Team accolades during her rookie and sophomore seasons. The defender helped the Panthers rank third in the league play holding opponents to 1.31 goals per game. Watson, who returned to the ice after suffering a season-ending injury last year, tied for the league lead in scoring among defenders with nine points on a pair of goals and seven assists in 16 NESCAC games.
  • Sam Walther of Hamilton garnered all-conference recognition for the second time in her career. A Second Team goaltender last season, she moves to the First Team this year. The junior netminder was among the league leaders between the pipes this season. Walther posted a 1.18 goals against average, a .956 save percentage and seven shutouts after playing in all 16 conference games.
  • Middlebury’s Lizzie Sheline has been selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year by the league’s coaches. The forward led all rookies in scoring with nine points on six goals and three assists in 15 conference games. She also ranked second in the league with two short-handed points in NESCAC play. Sheline is the fourth Panther to receive the award, joining Annmarie Cellino (2006), Anna McNally (2008), and Jessica Young (2015).
  • Emily McNamara of Hamilton has been named NESCAC Coach of the Year for the first time in her five years at the helm. She guided the Continentals to a 14-7-3 overall record and a 9-5-2 mark in league play. McNamara directed Hamilton from the No. 3 seed in this year’s NESCAC Championship, the highest in program history, after earning the No. 6 seed last season. She is the first Hamilton head coach to garner Coach of the Year honors.

Women's Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Katie Parkman
Sr. Stratford, Prince Edward Island
F Alex Toupal Amherst Jr.
New Brighton, Minn.
F Jessica Young
Middlebury Jr.
Mission Hills, Kan.
D Caitlyn Ryan
Sr. Burlington, Mass.
D Carly Watson
Middlebury Sr.
Montpelier, Vt.
G Sam Walther
Jr. Gambrills, Md.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Julie Dachille
Jr. Venetia, Pa.
F Sara Lehman
Sr. Lexington, Mass.
F Maddie Winslow
Middlebury Jr. Manchester, Vt.
D Julie Beattie
Conn. College
Sr. Livonia, Mich.
D Brigit Bergin
Jr. Natick, Mass.
G Kerri St. Denis


Harpswell, Maine
Katie Parkman
Player of the Year
Katie Parkman, Hamilton
Lizzie Sheline
Rookie of the Year
Lizzie Sheline, Middlebury
Emily McNamara
Coach of the Year
Emily McNamara, Hamilton