Women's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Women's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Announced

HADLEY, Mass. – Middlebury junior midfielder Hollis Perticone (Darien, Conn.) has been named the NESCAC Player of the Year as voted on by the league’s coaches. She helped the Panthers earn the No. 1 seed in the NESCAC Championship. Perticone ranks third on the Panthers with 37 points and 29 goals and leads the league in draws (68). Perticone is the sixth Middlebury player to garner Player of the Year honors and the first since Kim Walker won the award in 2007.

Colby senior midfielder Emilie Klein was selected as the NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year and an All-NESCAC First Team honoree. She leads the NESCAC with 32 caused turnovers and has won 29 draws for the Mules to help them earn the No. 4 seed in the NESCAC Championship. She has scored 12 goals and added 11 assists for 23 points. Klein is the first Colby player to earn the Defensive Player of the Year award since its inception in 2014.

Five of the 26 players named to the All-NESCAC Teams are repeat First Team honorees.

Colby and Middlebury led all teams with five total all-conference selections, while Bowdoin, Hamilton and Trinity received three All-NESCAC picks.

Senior attack Clare Lyne of Trinity was the only repeat selection to the First Team and is making her third appearance on the squad. She  ranks second in the conference in points (62), third in goals (43) and fourth in assists (19). She helped the Bantams earn the No. 3 seed in the NESCAC Tournament.

Middlebury senior attack Mary O’Connell earns her third All-NESCAC honor and is on the First Team for the first time in her career. She was a Second Team selection in 2015 and 2016. O’Connell leads the top-seeded Panthers in scoring (55 points) and assists (22). She has also netted 33 goals this season.

First-year Emily Games of Tufts, the NESCAC Rookie of the Year, has had an impressive inaugural collegiate season. She leads the conference in scoring with 64 points and goals (49). Games is the second Jumbo to be named Rookie of the Year, joining Caroline Ross (2013).

Senior Lexie Perticone of Colby rounds out the First Team attackers. She leads the league in assists (25) and is third in points (56).

Senior Morgan Fletcher of Hamilton and sophomore Emma Tenbarge of Williams are the other two midfielders to earn a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team. Fletcher makes her first appearance on the First Team and picks up the third All-NESCAC honor of her career, after being selected to the All-NESCAC Second Team the past two seasons. Fletcher leads the Continentals in scoring with 40 points on 25 goals and a team-best 15 helpers. Tenbarge, the Rookie of the Year last season, led the Ephs in points (39), goals (36), draws (56) and caused turnovers (26) this season.

Delaina Smith of Middlebury has been an anchor for the Panther defense that ranks first in the conference, allowing just 6.86 goals per game. She leads the team in caused turnovers with 26 and ranks second in ground balls, having collected 30 this season.

Sophomore Caroline Sgaglione has been a key cog for Wesleyan as it set a new program record for wins and returned to the NESCAC Championship for the first time since 2009. She leads the Cardinals in draws (45), caused turnovers (26) and ground balls (34).

Trinity junior Clara Nowlan rounds out the First Team defenders. Nowlan runs the Bantams defensive unit. She leads the team in caused turnovers (17), while also collecting 20 ground balls for the No. 3 seed in the NESCAC Championship.

Junior Zoe Ferguson of Trinity has been named the First Team goalkeeper. She leads the conference in wins (13), save percentage (.536) and minutes played (923:25). Ferguson also has a 7.15 goals against average.

Kim Williams of Wesleyan was chosen as the NESCAC Coach of the Year in just her second season on the sidelines with the Cardinals. Williams is the first Wesleyan coach to garner the honor. In her second year at the helm, she directed Wesleyan to its first NESCAC Tournament appearance since 2009 and earned the highest seed (No. 5) in program history. The Cardinals set a program record for most NESCAC and overall victories in a single season.

Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Clare Lyne
Sr. Concord, Mass.
A Mary O'Connell
Middlebury Sr. Norwell, Mass.
A Emily Games
Tufts Fy.
Wayne, Pa.
A Lexie Perticone
Colby Sr. Darien, Conn.
M Hollis Perticone
Middlebury Jr. Darien, Conn.
M Morgan Fletcher
Hamilton Sr. Wayland, Mass.
M Emilie Klein
Sr. North Andover, Mass.
M Emma Tenbarge
Williams So. Peapack, N.J.
D Delaina Smith
Sr. Yardley, Pa.
D Caroline Sgaglione
Wesleyan So. Glen Head, N.Y.
D Clara Nowlan
Trinity Jr. Needham, Mass.
GK Zoe Ferguson
Trinity Jr. Ridgewood, N.J.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
Rachel Aronow
Wesleyan Sr. West Hartford, Conn.
A Hannah Hirschfeld
Bowdoin Jr.
Concord, N.H.
A Sasha Fritts
Jr. Darien, Conn.
M Clarie Cagnassola
Sr. Summit, N.J.
M Darby Philbrick
Hamilton Jr. Alexandria, Va.
M Kara Pooley
Hamilton So.
Wexford, Pa.
M Kara Finnerty
Bowdoin Fy.
Hopkinton, Mass.
Camille Belletete
Bates Jr.
Jaffrey, N.H.
D Melinda Edie
Colby Fy. Dedham, Mass.
D Jackie Brokaw
Colby Jr. Waterbury, Conn.
D Sabrina Solow
So. Madison, N.J.
D Caroline Maxwell Bowdoin Fy. Boxborough, Mass.
D Evie Keating Middlebury Jr. Hanover, N.H.
GK Kate Furber
So. Manchester, Mass.
Hollis Perticone
Player of the Year
Hollis Perticone, Middlebury
Emilie Klein
Defensive Player of the Year
Emilie Klein, Colby

Emily Games
Rookie of the Year
Emily Games, Tufts

Kim Williams
Coach of the Year
Kim Williams, Wesleyan