Women's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Women's Lacrosse All-NESCAC Selections Announced

HADLEY, Mass. – Junior attack Dakota Adamec (Katonah, N.Y.) of Tufts has been named the NESCAC Player of the Year as voted on by the league’s coaches. Adamec, an All-NESCAC First Team selection, has 63 points on 49 goals and 14 assists and is  tied for the league lead in scoring. She helped the Jumbos qualify for the NESCAC Championship for the 11th consecutive season. Adamec is the first Tufts player to earn NESCAC Player of the Year honors.

• Amherst junior Sabrina Solow (Madison, N.J.) is the NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year. The Madison, N.J. native is the second Mammoth to garner the award, joining Alex Philie (2014). Solow also earned a spot on the First Team, as she moved up from her Second Team selection last season. Solow is tied for second among the league-leaders in caused turnovers (33) and has 42 ground balls on the year.

• Middlebury placed five players on the All-NESCAC teams. Amherst, Bowdoin, Trinity, Tufts and Wesleyan were each represented by a trio of athletes.

• There were eight repeat All-NESCAC honorees, including six on the First Team, which included three players elevating from the Second Team last season to First Team this year.

• Senior attack Kiley Coffey (West Newbury, Mass.) of Trinity earns her first All-NESCAC accolade of her career with a spot on the First Team. She is the leading goal scorer in the conference with 58 tallies and ranks third in points with 61. She has led the Bantams to their ninth straight semifinal appearance.

• Amherst’s Julia Crerend (New Canaan, Conn.) earns her first All-NESCAC accolade. The senior attack leads the Mammoths in scoring with 58 points and 49 goals. She also has 20 ground balls and 12 caused turnovers this season, helping lead Amherst to the No. 2 seed in the NESCAC Tournament and a semifinal appearance.

Emma McDonagh (Reading, Mass.), a junior at Middlebury, rounds out the First Team attackers. She earns her first All-NESCAC honor after leading the Panther offense with 48 points on 29 goals and 19 assists. Top-seeded Middlebury will host the remaining rounds of the NESCAC Championship for the eighth time in program history.

• Wesleyan midfielder Abigail Horst (Pomfret, Conn.) guided the Cardinals to their second straight NESCAC Championship appearance. The junior scored a team-high 34 goals and ranked among the team leaders in caused turnovers (14).  She also collected 19 ground balls and won 26 draws.

• Middlebury midfielder Hollis Perticone (Darien, Conn.), the 2017 NESCAC Player of the Year, earns her second straight All-NESCAC First Team honor. Perticone, a senior, is the NESCAC leader in draws (101) and has 25 goals for the Panthers.

• Colby senior Jackie Brokaw (Waterbury, Conn.), the 2015 NESCAC Co-Rookie of the Year, was selected to an All-NESCAC Team for the third year in a row. She was a First Team honoree in 2016 and landed on the Second Team in 2017. Brokaw ranks second on the Mules’ squad in caused turnovers (24) and ground balls (32).

• Middlebury senior Evie Keating (Hanover, N.H.) returns to the All-NESCAC First Team. She was a Second Team honoree in 2017 and earned a spot on the First Team in 2016. Keating anchors the Panther defense, which is the best in the NESCAC, yielding 6.38 goals per game. She is tied for second among the conference leaders in caused turnovers (33) and has 37 ground balls for Middlebury.

Caroline Sgaglione (Glen Head, N.Y.), a junior from Wesleyan, is a repeat All-NESCAC First Team selection, also earning the honor last season. The defender leads the Cardinals in caused turnovers (16), draws (52), and ground balls (39).

• Trinity goalie Zoe Ferguson (Ridgewood, N.J.) earns a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team for the second straight season. The senior owns the best save percentage in the conference at .530 and an 8.38 goals against average for the Bantams.

Maia Noyes (Lexington, Mass.), a first-year midfielder from Amherst, is the NESCAC Rookie of the Year and a First Team All-NESCAC selection. She ranks among the league leaders in points (48), goals (26) and assists (22), while also winning 53 draws and recording 25 ground balls. Noyes is the first Mammoth to be named Rookie of the Year.

• Amherst head coach Christine Paradis was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year by her peers. It is the second time in her 24 years at Amherst she has garnered the honor. She also received the award in 2014. The Mammoths earned the No. 2 seed in the NESCAC Championship and finished the conference regular season with a 9-1 record.

Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Dakota Adamec, Tufts
Defensive Player of the Year: Sabrina Solow, Amherst
Rookie of the Year: Maia Noyes, Amherst
Coach of the Year: Christine Paradis, Amherst

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
A Dakota Adamec Tufts Jr. Katonah, N.Y.
A Kiley Coffey Trinity Sr. West Newbury, Mass.
A Julia Crerend Amherst Sr. New Canaan, Conn.
A Emma McDonagh Middlebury Jr. Reading, Mass.
M Abigail Horst Wesleyan Jr. Pomfret, Conn.
M Maia Noyes Amherst Fy. Lexington, Mass.
M Hollis Perticone Middlebury Sr. Darien, Conn.
D Jackie Brokaw Colby Sr. Waterbury, Conn.
D Evie Keating Middlebury Sr. Hanover, N.H.
D Caroline Sgaglione Wesleyan Jr. Glen Head, N.Y.
D Sabrina Solow Amherst Jr. Madison, N.J.
GK Zoe Ferguson Trinity Sr. Ridgewood, N.J.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
Georgia Carroll Middlebury Sr. Lutherville, Md.
A Sasha Fritts Colby Sr. Darien, Conn.
A Hannah Hirschfeld Bowdoin Sr. Concord, N.H.
M Allie Barrett Trinity Sr. Concord, Mass.
M Eliza Denious Bowdoin Fy. Wilton, Conn.
M Claire Fitzpatrick Williams Fy. Longmeadow, Mass.
M Jamie Navoni Connecticut College Jr. Natick, Mass.
M Annie Sullivan Tufts Jr. Barrington, R.I.
D Grace DeWald Bowdoin Sr. Duxbury, Mass.
D Kat Fearey Williams Sr. Duxbury, Mass.
D Addy Mitchell Middlebury Fy. Medfield, Mass.
D Hedy Veith Tufts Jr. Alexandria, Va.
GK Allegra Grant Wesleyan So. Winnetka, Ill.