Six Women's Lacrosse Teams Earn NCAA Tournament Berths

Six Women's Lacrosse Teams Earn NCAA Tournament Berths

HADLEY, Mass. – Six NESCAC teams were selected for the 2018 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Tournament field. Middlebury earned the league's automatic bid after winning its ninth NESCAC Championship with a 13-10 victory over Bowdoin. Amherst, Bowdoin, Trinity, Tufts and Wesleyan all earned at-large bids. First-round games will be played on Saturday, May 12. The semifinals and final will take place on May 26-27 at Kerr Stadium in Salem, Virginia.


Amherst (15-2) earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2016 and 13th time overall. The Mammoths won NCAA Championship in 2003 and were the national runner-up in 1999 and 2001. Amherst will host a first round contest between SUNY Cortland (15-4) and Plymouth State (14-3). The winner faces the Mammoths in the second round. SUNY Cortland won its 20th consecutive SUNYAC title with a 19-5 win over Brockport to claim the conference's automatic bid. Plymouth State captured the Little East Championship for the seventh time with a 19-8 win over Eastern Connecticut.

Bowdoin (13-5), the 2018 NESCAC Runner-Up, earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament and a first-round bye. The Polar Bears will host Stevens in the second round on Sunday, May 13. Bowdoin returns to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2015 and is making its seventh NCAA appearance. The Polar Bears advanced to the national championship game in 2011. Stevens (14-5) earned an at-large bid. The Ducks won the Empire 8 Regular Season title and advanced to the tournament championship game, but fell to St. John Fisher. Stevens is making its first NCAA appearance since 2011.

Middlebury (16-2) is making its 24th NCAA Tournament appearance and will host the winner of Babson/Castleton State in the second round. The Panthers own six NCAA titles, their last coming in 2016, and were a Final Four participant last season. Babson (12-7) won the NEWMAC title following a 15-13 victory over Springfield College to earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. Castleton State (11-6) defeated Colby-Sawyer College, 12-10, to win its seventh straight NAC Championship and book a spot in the NCAA Tournament.

Trinity (11-6), which has been in the NCAA Final Four six straight seasons, earned an at-large bid. The Bantams are making their seventh consecutive NCAA appearance and won the title in 2012. Trinity will host the winner of Springfield/Elms in the second round. Springfield (13-5) earned an at-large bid after falling to Babson in the NEWMAC Championship game. Elms, an automatic qualifier, earned the program's first trip to the NCAA Tournament after claiming its first NECC Championship with a 15-9 victory over Wheelock.

Tufts (12-4) finished third in the NESCAC standings and earns an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. The Jumbos will travel to Franklin & Marshall and play in a first-round game versus FDU-Florham on Saturday, May 12. FDU-Florham (15-4) won the MAC Freedom Championship for the fourth year in a row with an 11-9 victory over Misericordia and is in the NCAA Tournament for the fifth time overall. The Tufts/FDU-Florham winner meets Franklin & Marshall (16-4) in the second round. The Diplomats dropped a 15-7 decision to Gettysburg in the Centennial Conference Championship game. Franklin & Marshall is making its 30th NCAA appearance.

Wesleyan (10-6) rounds out the NESCAC teams earning a spot in the NCAA Tournament field. The Cardinals earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Division III Championships for the second straight season and will face Messiah in Rochester, N.Y. on May 12 in a first-round game. The winner will meet St. John Fisher (17-2) in the second round. Wesleyan fell to Bowdoin in the NESCAC Quarterfinal round. Messiah (15-3) won its fourth straight MAC Commonwealth Championship with a victory over Lebanon Valley to earn the conference's automatic bid. St. John Fisher was an automatic qualifier after winning its seventh consecutive Empire 8 crown.