Women's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams Announced

Women's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams Announced

Williams' Kirshe Claims Player of the Year Honors

HADLEY, Mass. – Williams senior forward Kristi Kirshe (Franklin, Mass.) has been selected as the 2016 NESCAC Player of the Year as voted on by the league’s coaches. Kirshe earns Player of the Year honors for the first time and is the fourth Eph to garner the honor since 2000. Kirshe, also an All-NESCAC First Team for the third straight season, is a key cog in a potent Williams offense that has scored 46 goals this season. She ranks third in the NESCAC in scoring with 26 points and leads the league in assists (12). Williams was selected to host NCAA First and Second Round games and will look to Kirshe’s leadership to help the advance in the postseason.

  • Five of the 11 All-NESCAC First Team honorees are repeat all-conference selections, including three players who received first-team nods in 2015. Eight members of the Second Team are being recognized for the first time.
  • Williams led all teams with six all-NESCAC picks.
  • Williams senior Audrey Thomas landed on the First Team for the third consecutive season and is joined by junior defender Danielle Sim. Thomas has registered 15 points in 13 games and ranks third on the team with six goals, half of which have been game-winners. Sim has started 17 games and chipped in one goal, while anchoring a defensive unit that has surrendered just six goals on the year and leads the NESCAC in goals against average (0.35).
  • Amherst juniors Hannah Guzzi and Delancey King represent the Purple & White on the All-NESCAC First Team, both earning the honor for the first time in their careers. Guzzi, a forward, leads the NESCAC in scoring with 34 points on 15 goals and four assists. King, a midfielder, has contributed four goals while starting all 18 matches. The NESCAC Champions will host NCAA First and Second round matches.
  • Three Middlebury seniors earned a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team. Adrianna Gildner moves up to the First Team after garnering Second Team honors last season. Amanda Haik is a repeat First Team honoree and Katherine Hobbs earns All-NESCAC honors for the first time in her career. Gildner and Hobbs rank 1-2 for the NCAA Tournament-bound Panthers in scoring. Gildner has registered a team-high 20 points on eight goals, including three game-winning tallies, and four assists. Hobbs has scored six times and added one assist for 13 points.
  • Trinity teammates Taylor Kirchgessner, Sheena Landy and Julia Pitino round out the All-NESCAC First Team, each earning the honor for the first time. Kirchgessner, a sophomore, leads the Bantams in scoring with 26 points on 10 goals and six assists. She ranks fourth in the NESCAC in both points per game (1.44) and goals per game (0.56). Landy, a senior defender, has played in 15 games and contributed six points on a pair of goals and two assists. Pitino, a junior, has played every minute in net for Trinity and ranks among the NESCAC leaders in goals against average (fourth-0.68), save percentage (second-.883) and saves per game (second-5.44). All of Pitino’s 10 wins have been shutouts this season. She made three stops in a penalty kick shootout versus Williams to help the Bantams advance to the NESCAC Championship game for the first time. Trinity earned an at-large invitation to the NCAA Tournament.
  • Bowdoin first-year Morgen Gallagher is the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. She is the second consecutive Polar Bear to earn the honor, joining teammate Julia Patterson. The forward started all 16 games and scored a team-high four goals, including two game-winners, and registered nine points. 
  • Amherst’s Jen Hughes was chosen as NESCAC Coach of the Year by her peers. Hughes earns the honor for the second time in her 13 years at the helm of the Purple & White. Hughes led Amherst to its fourth NESCAC Championship with a 2-1 victory over Trinity. The Purple & White advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the sixth straight season and will host first and second round games. 

Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Adrianna Gildner Middlebury Sr. Woodinville, Wash.
F Hannah Guzzi Amherst Jr. Southborough, Mass.
F Kristi Kirshe Williams Sr. Franklin, Mass.
F Audrey Thomas Williams Sr. Bellevue, Wash.
M Katherine Hobbs Middlebury Sr. Menlo Park, Calif.
M Delancey King Amherst Jr. Belmont, Mass.
M Taylor Kirchgessner Trinity So. Southampton, N.Y.
D Amanda Haik Middlebury Sr. High Bridge, N.J.
D Sheena Landy Trinity Sr. Durham, Conn.
D Danielle Sim Williams Jr. Bel Air, Md.
GK Julia Pitino Trinity Jr. Littleton, Mass.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Olivia Amdur Bates So. Chicago, Ill.
F Alex Baltazar Connecticut College So. Ludlow, Mass.
F Morgen Gallagher Bowdoin Fy. Norwell, Mass.
M Robin Estus Tufts Sr. Houston, Texas
M Evan Gancedo Williams Jr. Pasadena, Calif.
M Emily Hester Amherst Sr. Washington, D.C.
M Katie Wardlaw Williams Sr. San Marino, Calif.
D Taylor Haist Bowdoin Sr. Montgomery Village, Md.
D Caleigh Plaut Amherst So. Irvington, N.Y.
D Nikki Wilson Bowdoin Jr. Shrewsbury, Mass.
GK Olivia Barnhill Williams So. New York, N.Y.
Kristi Kirshe
Player of the Year
Kristi Kirshe, Williams
Morgen Gallagher
Rookie of the Year
Morgen Gallagher, Bowdoin

Jen Hughes
Coach of the Year
Jen Hughes, Amherst