Women's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams Announced

Women's Soccer All-NESCAC Teams Announced

HADLEY, Mass. – Williams senior defender Danielle Sim has been named the NESCAC Player of the Year. Sim, a 2016 All-NESCAC First Team performer, is the first defender to garner the honor and the sixth Eph, joining Jill Caterer (1999), Gabrielle Woodson (2007), Brianna Wolfson (2009), Sara Wild (2010), and Kristie Kirshe (2016). Sim anchors an Eph defense that has allowed eight goals this season and owns a 0.43 goals against average. She helped the Ephs win their eighth NESCAC Women’s Soccer Championship with a 2-1 overtime victory over No. 4 Tufts. Williams earned the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament and will host a NCAA Regional for the second straight season.

• Williams led the All-NESCAC selections with six players being recognized. Seven players were repeat All-NESCAC honorees among the First Team honorees, while 11 newcomers made up the Second Team.

• Seniors Hannah Guzzi and Delancey King, along with junior Rubii Tamen, represent Amherst on the All-NESCAC First Team. Both Guzzi and King are repeat First Team selections for the Mammoths. Guzzi leads the league and Amherst in scoring (23 points) and goals (11). Tamen ranks second on the squad in scoring with 20 points on eight goals and four assists. King started all 17 games and contributed seven points this season.

• Seniors Natasha Albaneze and Evan Gancedo joined Sim as the other Ephs selected to the All-NESCAC First Team. Albaneze, who is recognized with an All-NESCAC honor for the first time, has dished out a league-best 10 assists and leads Williams in scoring with 18 points. Gancedo was an All-NESCAC Second Team honoree in 2016. She has started every match for the Ephs in the midfield and contributed four goals and nine points.

• Midfielder Julia Patterson and defender Nikki Wilson are both repeat All-NESCAC selections for Bowdoin. Patterson, a junior, was the Rookie of the Year in 2015 and earned a spot on the First Team that season. She ranked third among the Polar Bears’ scoring leaders with nine points and tied for the team lead in assists (5) this season. Wilson, a senior, was a Second Team selection last year. She saw action in 14 games and tallied seven points this year.

• Junior forward Olivia Amdur of Bates earns her third All-NESCAC honor of her career. A Second Team honoree 2015 and 2016, she moves to the First Team this season. Amdur led the Bobcats in scoring with 18 points on eight goals, five of which were game-winners, and a pair of assists.

• Two-time captain and senior Alissa Huntington anchors the Middlebury defense and earns her first All-NESCAC accolade. Huntington started all 13 matches she appeared in and helped the NCAA-bound Panthers post a 0.54 goals against average, allowing nine goals, for the second-best defense in the NESCAC.

• Tufts goalkeeper Emily Bowers earns her first All-NESCAC honor with a spot on the First Team. She has played every minute in net for the Jumbos and posted 10 wins. She carries a 0.85 goals against average and .826 save percentage into the NCAA Tournament, as Tufts heads to the national postseason tournament for the first time since 2007.

• First-year forward Sophie Lloyd of Tufts is the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. She is the third Jumbo to earn the honor, joining Jess Trombly (2000), Cara Cadigan (2007), and Catharine Greer (2001). Lloyd scored twice in the NESCAC Semifinals to propel the Jumbos into the championship match. She ranks second in the NESCAC in goals (10) and third in points (21), while leading the Jumbos in both categories. Lloyd, who also earned a spot on the All-NESCAC Second Team, has tallied four game-winning goals this season.

• Tufts head coach Martha Whiting is the NESCAC Coach of the Year for the fourth time in her 19 seasons at the helm of the Jumbos. She also won the honor in 2002, 2005, and 2010. Tufts advanced to the NESCAC Championship game for the first time since 2005 and is headed to the NCAA Tournament.

Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Danielle Sim, Williams
Rookie of the Year:
Sophie Lloyd, Tufts
Coach of the Year:
Martha Whiting, Tufts

First Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Natasha Albaneze Williams Sr. Northport, N.Y.
F Olivia Amdur Bates Jr. Chicago, Ill.
F Hannah Guzzi Amherst Sr. Southborough, Mass.
F Rubii Tamen Amherst Jr. Washington, D.C.
M Evan Gancedo Williams Sr. Pasadena, Calif.
M Delancey King Amherst Sr. Belmont, Mass.
M Julia Patterson Bowdoin Jr. Hingham, Mass.
D Alissa Huntington Middlebury Sr. San Francisco, Calif.
D Danielle Sim Williams Sr. Bel Air, Md.
D Nikki Wilson Bowdoin Sr. Shrewsbury, Mass.
GK Emily Bowers Tufts Jr. Needham, Mass.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Position Name Institution Class Hometown
F Sophie LloydTufts Tufts Fy. Los Altos, Calif.
F Alison Lu Williams So. Palo Alto, Calif.
F Kat Norton Connecticut College Fy. Hampton, Conn.
F Natalie Turner-Wyatt Williams Jr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
M Lauren Goetzman Wesleyan Jr. Hidden Hills, Calif.
M Tricia Pollock Trinity So. Beverly, Mass.
M Emma Ranalli Tufts Jr. Columbus, Ohio
M Lauren Steele Connecticut College Sr. Westford, Mass.
D Taylor Koscho Tufts Jr. Hudson, Ohio
D Katie McKillop Hamilton Jr. Aquebogue, N.Y.
D Kinsey Yost Wesleyan Jr. Lake Oswego, Ore.
GK Olivia Barnhill Williams Jr. New York, N.Y.