Women's Tennis All-NESCAC Selections Announced

Women's Tennis All-NESCAC Selections Announced

HADLEY, Mass. - Wesleyan junior Eudice Chong (Sai Kung, Hong Kong) has been chosen as the NESCAC Player of the Year as voted on by the league’s coaches. Chong, who was also named Player of the Year in 2015, is the only Wesleyan player to earn the award and is the fourth player in conference history to be a earn the honor multiple times. She has posted an 18-1 record in singles, inlcuding 13-0 at No. 1 singles this spring, and has helped the Cardinals earn a berth in the NCAA Tournament for the second consecutive season with a first-round bye.

Chong was selected First Team All-NESCAC in singles and doubles for the third straight year. She was the NESCAC Player and Rookie of the Year in 2015. Chong advanced to the final of the ITA New England Regional where she suffered her only loss of the season, as she is currently 18-1. She teamed up with doubles partner sophomore Victoria Yu to defend their ITA Regional Championship with a 5-0 mark in the tournament this fall. For the year, Chong and Yu are 16-0 overall and 11-0 during the spring campaign as a doubles team. Yu joined Chong as a member of the First Team All-NESCAC in doubles.

Juli Raventos, the NESCAC Player of the Year last season, earns First Team All-NESCAC honors in singles for the third straight year. She owns a 14-4 record at No. 1 singles for the Ephs this year. She defeated Eudice Chong of Wesleyan to capture the ITA New England Championship in the fall.

Tufts sophomore Mina Karamercan, the 2016 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, repeats as member of the All-NESCAC First Team in singles. She was also First Team All-NESCAC in doubles last year and earned Second Team All-NESCAC in doubles this season. She is 18-7 for the Jumbos this year playing at No. 1 and 2 in singles. She helped Tufts grab the No. 3 seed and advance to the semifinals at the NESCAC Championship for the first time since 2011 last weekend. The Jumbos have earned a spot in the NCAA Championship field for the 16th time in the last 17 years.

Williams’ Hannah Atkinson, Leah Bush and Chloe Henderson are on the All-NESCAC First Team for the first time in their careers. Atkinson, a senior, and Henderson, a rookie, earn First Team doubles honors, while Bush is lauded in singles. Atkinson and Henderson are 21-9 as a duo this season and are 12-6 at No. 1 and 2  during the spring season. The pair went unbeaten in two matches at the NESCAC Championship to help the Ephs capture the title. During the fall they advanced to the semifinals of the ITA New England Regional. Bush, a sophomore, owns an 18-7 record at the No. 1 and 2 on the singles ladder for Williams.

Seniors Joulia Likhanskaia and Samantha Stalder were selected as a First Team All-NESCAC doubles team from Bowdoin. The duo holds a 17-8 record as the top doubles team for the Polar Bears. Stalder earns her second All-NESCAC accolade after being named to the First Team in doubles in 2014, while Likhanskaia earns All-NESCAC honors in doubles for the third time in her career and is a First Team All-NESCAC singles selection for the fourth straight season. The 2014 NESCAC Rookie of the Year is 17-7 this season at No. 1 singles for Bowdoin. She helped the Polar Bears advance to the semifinals of the NESCAC Championship and earn a spot in the NCAA Tournament Field for the 16th consecutive season.

Middlebury senior Alexandra Fields closes out her career with a spot on the First Team All-NESCAC singles squad. Fields helped the Panthers advance to the final of the NESCAC Championship last weekend and earn a berth to the NCAA Tournament. Fields is 17-7 playing at No. 1 and 2 singles for the Panthers. She advanced to the quarterfinals of the ITA New England Regional during the fall and had a string of eight consecutive wins during the spring season.

Amherst first-year Camille Smukler was selected as the NESCAC Rookie of the Year. She is the fourth Mammoth to garner the award, joining Rachel Holt (2002), Kristen Raverta (2003), and Jordan Brewer (2011). Smukler was also named Second Team All-NESCAC in both singles and doubles.

Senior Alexa Meltzer (New York, N.Y.) of Tufts has been named the conference’s Senior Sportswoman of the Year, becoming the fifth Jumbo to garner the accolade, joining Becky Bram (2006), Julia Browne (2011), Lindsay Katz (2013), and Samantha Gann (2014). The award is given annually to the individual who best combined and displayed a high standard of tennis coupled with the highest levels of sportsmanship.

Middlebury’s Mike Morgan was selected as the NESCAC Coach of the Year for the second straight season and third time in his 11 years at the helm. Morgan, who previously won the honor in 2016 and 2008, guided the Panthers to the No. 1 seed at the NESCAC Championship where Middlebury advanced to the final and finished as runner-up. The Panthers also earned their 14th NCAA Tournament appearance in the last 15 seasons.

Women's Tennis All-Conference Teams

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Class Position Hometown
Hannah Atkinson
Sr. Doubles Toronto, Ontario
Leah Bush Williams So. Singles Weston, Fla.
Eudice Chong Wesleyan Jr. Singles/Doubles Sai Kung, Hong Kong
Alexandra Fields
Middlebury Sr. Singles Coral Gabels, Fla.
Chloe Henderson Williams Fy. Doubles Las Vegas, Nev.
Mina Karamercan Tufts So. Singles Istanbul, Turkey
Joulia Likhanskaia Bowdoin Sr. Singles/Doubles Winter Park, Fla.
Samantha Stalder
Sr. Doubles Costa Mesa, Calif.
Juli Raventos Williams Jr.
Singles San Jose, Costa Rica
Victoria Yu
Wesleyan So. Doubles New Braunfels, Texas
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Class Position Hometown
Hannah Atkinson
Williams Sr. Singles Toronto, Ontario
Catherine Blazye
Middlebury Fy. Doubles London, England
Heather Boehm
Middlebury Fy. Singles Miami, Fla.
Kelsey Chen
Amherst So. Doubles San Diego, Calif.
Mina Karamercan
Tufts So. Doubles Istanbul, Turkey
Lauren Louks
Tufts Jr. Doubles Malibu, Calif.
Kaysee Orozco
Middlebury Sr. Doubles New Milford, N.J.
Christina Puccinelli
Middlebury So. Singles New York, N.Y.
Camille Smukler
Amherst Fy. Singles/Doubles Villanova, Pa.
Tess Trinka Bowdoin Jr. Singles
Oak Park, Ill.
Victoria Yu Wesleyan So. Singles New Braunfels, Texas
Eudice Chong
Player of the Year
Eudice Chong, Wesleyan
Camille Smuckler  
Rookie of the Year
Camille Smukler, Amherst
Alexa Meltzer  
Senior Sportswoman Award
Alexa Meltzer, Tufts
Mike Morgan
Coach of the Year
Mike Morgan, Middlebury