NCAA Announces Cross Country Championship Qualifiers

NCAA Announces Cross Country Championship Qualifiers

HADLEY, Mass. – Six teams and seven individuals from the NESCAC will compete at the 2017 NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships on Saturday. A complete list of teams and individual qualifiers for the event were unveiled by the NCAA on Sunday afternoon. 

Complete Qualifier List
Complete Men's Regional Results - New England | Atlantic
Complete Women's Regional Results - New England | Atlantic

Principia College is hosting the championships on Saturday, November 18 at the North Farm Facility in Elsah, Illinois. The men’s race will begin at 12 p.m. Eastern time followed by the women’s race at 1:15 p.m. Eastern time.

The Amherst men’s and Tufts women’s cross country teams earned automatic bids after both teams finished second at the NCAA New England Regional Championship on Saturday at the University of Southern Maine.

Both Middlebury and Williams men's and women's cross country squads earned at-large bids. The Middlebury men’s team placed third and the Ephs followed in fourth place in the men’s regional race, while Williams took third place and the Panthers finished fourth in the women’s race.

Williams, which is the only NESCAC squad win the men’s national championship with NCAA titles coming in 1994 and 1995, is making its 26th overall appearance. Amherst, the 2017 NESCAC Champions, and Middlebury will be making their eighth championship appearance each.

Individuals invited to compete in this year's national championship include Scott Mason of Connecticut College and Ben Torda of Bowdoin. Mason was the runner-up at both the NESCAC Championships and the NCAA New England Regional. Torda placed seventh at the regional on Saturday.

Williams, the 2017 NESCAC Champion and 2015 National Champion, is making its 26th national championship appearance. Middlebury owns six NCAA titles, with the most recent coming in 2010, and is making its 23rd NCAA Championship appearance. The Ephs and the Panthers have registered runner-up finishes four times each. Tufts will be appearing in its ninth NCAA Championship.

Individuals who have been invited to compete in the women’s championship include NESCAC Champion Nicky Roberts of Amherst, Katherine Cook of Bates, Caitlin Lawlor of Colby, and the Hamilton duo of Hanna Jerome and Grace Heller. Lawlor and Cook went 3-4 at the NESCAC Championship and Cook added a fourth-place finish at the New England Regional, while Lawlor placed 12th. Jerome and Heller finished 12th and 15th, respectively, at the Atlantic Regional for the Continentals.