NESCAC Cross Country All-Conference Teams Announced

NESCAC Cross Country All-Conference Teams Announced

HADLEY, Mass. –  Williams junior Ryan Cox (Bainbridge Island, Wash.) and Colby sophomore Sophia Gorman (Charlotte, Vt.) were named the NESCAC Most Outstanding Performers following the 2018 NESCAC Cross Country Championships hosted by Tufts on Saturday. The annual honor is given to the individuals who finished first at the conference championship meet.

• Cox, who also earned All-NESCAC First Team honors for the first time in his career, posted a winning time of 25:27.8 over the 8K course at Franklin Park in Boston, Mass., leading the Ephs to a second-place finish. Cox is the fifth runner from Williams to earn NESCAC Most Outstanding Performer honors since 2000.

• Amherst won its second straight NESCAC Men’s Cross Country Championship as senior Cosmo Brossy and junior Clark Ricciardelli finished among the top seven racers. Brossy, a third-place finisher earned All-NESCAC honors for the third straight season and is a repeat First Team performer. Ricciardelli finished sixth and collected his second straight All-NESCAC First Team honor.

• The Connecticut College duo of junior Danny Aschale and senior Scott Mason finished second and seventh, respectively, and repeated as All-NESCAC First Team performers. Aschale also earned a spot on the All-NESCAC Second Team in 2016.

• Bowdoin senior Sean MacDonald earned his first All-NESCAC honor, finishing fourth overall to pace the Polar Bears.

• Sophomore Eli Decker, Colby’s leading runner all season, earned All-NESCAC honors for the first time in his career, finishing fifth to lead the Mules.

Elias Lindgren, a first-year from Williams, posted a time of 26.27.7 and was the first first-year runner across the finish line, to earn Rookie of the Year honors. He is the seventh Eph to garner the award.

• Amherst head coach Cassie Funke-Harris was selected as the NESCAC Men’s Coach of the Year in her first season coaching the men’s team. It marks the third straight season an Amherst coach has been recognized with the award.

• Gorman is the fourth sophomore, and first Colby runner since 2000, to earn Most Outstanding Performer honors. She covered the 6K course at Franklin Park in Boston, Mass. in a winning time of 21:54.8. Gorman also picked up her first All-NESCAC honor with a spot on the First Team.
• Senior Rory Kelly and first-year Cassie Kearney finished 3-4, respectively, to lead Middlebury to its first NESCAC Championship since 2014 and 14th overall. Both runners earned All-NESCAC honors for the first time in their careers with a spot on the First Team. Kearney was also the Rookie of the Year, leading all first-year runners with a time of 22:35.9. She is the fourth Panther to garner the accolade since 2000.
• Tufts senior Natalie Bettez earned a spot on the All-NESCAC First Team for the third time in her career. She posted a runner-up time of 22:08.4.
• Bates senior Katie Barker, Williams junior Emma Herrmann, and Wesleyan junior Sara Pinsonault rounded out the top seven finishers, placing 5-6-7, respectively. All three runners collected their first All-NESCAC accolades.
• Middlebury head coach Nicole Wilkerson was named the NESCAC Women’s Cross Country Coach of the Year. She earned the award for the third time in her eight years at the helm of the Panthers’ women’s team. She was also honored in 2013 and 2014.

Men's All-Conference Teams

Most Outstanding Performer: Ryan Cox, Williams
Rookie of the Year: Elias Lindgren, Williams
Coach of the Year: Cassie Funke-Harris, Amherst

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Danny Aschale Connecticut College Jr. Cambridge, Mass.
Cosmo Brossy Amherst Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Ryan Cox Williams Jr. Bainbridge Island, Wash.
Eli Decker Colby Jr. Concord, Mass.
Scott Mason Connecticut College Sr. Chestnut Hill, Pa.
Sean MacDonald Bowdoin Sr. South Burlington, Vt.
Clark Ricciardelli Amherst Jr. Hingham, Mass.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Price Day Connecticut College Sr. Harvard, Mass.
Theo Henderson Middlebury Jr. Cold Spring, N.Y.
James Jones Bates Jr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
Tucker Meijer Amherst Sr. Mountain View, Calif.
Jonathan Perlman Middlebury Sr. Bala Cynwyd, Pa.
Colin Raposo Tufts Sr. Burlington, Mass.
Aidan Ryan Williams So. New York, N.Y.

Women's All-Conference Teams

Most Outstanding Performer: Sophia Gorman, Colby
Rookie of the Year: Cassie Kearney, Middlebury
Coach of the Year: Nicole Wilkerson, Middlebury

First Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Katie Barker Bates Sr. Burlington, Vt.
Natalie Bettez Tufts Sr. Bolton, Mass.
Sophia Gorman Colby So. Charlotte, Vt.
Emma Herrmann Williams Jr. Northville, Mich.
Cassie Kearney Middlebury Fy. Rockland, Mass.
Rory Kelly Middlebury Sr. Winnetka, Ill.
Sara Pinsonault Wesleyan Jr. Sparta, N.J.
Second Team All-NESCAC
Name Institution Year Hometown
Ayden Eickhoff Bates Sr. Corvallis, Mont.
Audrey Rustad Williams Jr. Boise, Idaho
Becky Lopez-Anido Wesleyan So. Orono, Maine
Emily Harris Williams Sr. Manchester, N.H.
Tasha Greene Middlebury So. Wynnewood, Pa.
Helen Chavey Colby Sr. West Hartford, Conn.
Clare Gomba Middlebury Sr. Hopewell Junction, N.Y.