NCAA Announces Cross Country Championship Qualifiers

The 2018 NCAA Cross Country Championships are November 17

HADLEY, Mass. – Nine teams and 10 individuals from the NESCAC will compete at the 2018 NCAA Division III Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Championships on Saturday, November 17. A complete list of teams and individual qualifiers for the event were unveiled by the NCAA on Sunday afternoon.

Complete Qualifier List | Event Webpage
Complete Men's Regional Results - New England | Atlantic
Complete Women's Regional Results - New England | Atlantic

The University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh is hosting the championships at the Lake Breeze Golf Club in Winneconne, Wisconsin. The women’s race will begin at 12:15 p.m., followed by the men’s race at 1:15 p.m.

The Amherst and Williams men’s teams earned automatic berths to the NCAA Men’s Cross Country Championship after finishing as the top two teams, respectively, at the NCAA New England Regional hosted by Bowdoin. The Mammoths and Ephs will be joined in Wisconsin by Bates, Middlebury, and Tufts who were awarded at-large bids to the national event. The Panthers placed third, followed by the Jumbos, in fifth, and the Bobcats in sixth place at the New England Regional race.

Williams is making its 27th appearance in the NCAA Division III Championship, while Tufts is making its 15th appearance. Amherst, the 2018 NESCAC Champion, and Middlebury are both in the field for the ninth time, while Bates is in the event for the sixth time.

Individuals selected to compete in this year’s national championship include Sean MacDonald of Bowdoin, the Connecticut College trio of Scott Mason, Danny Aschale, and Price Day, and Colby’s Eli Decker.

After finishing second in the NCAA New England Regional, Middlebury earned an automatic berth to the NCAA Women’s Cross Country Championship. Bates, Tufts, and Williams are also in the field after earning at-large bids. The Ephs took third at the New England Regional event, followed by the Jumbos in fifth and the Bobcats in sixth.

Middlebury, the 2018 NESCAC Champion, owns six NCAA titles, most recently winning in 2010, and is making its 24th NCAA appearance. Williams is making its 27th overall appearance in the national championship, having won the title three times, most recently in 2015. Tufts is in the field for the 10th time, while Bates will make its fifth appearance in the event.

Individuals who have been invited to compete in the women’s championship include Julia O’Rourke and Delaney Bullock of Bowdoin, 2018 NESCAC Champion Sophia Gorman and teammate Helen Chavey of Colby, and Grace Heller of Hamilton.